Dreams & Shadows

Spotted Peccary Artists Series

Dreams & Shadows

Out of stock

An Ambient Sampler at a Budget Price!!

This product is currently out of stock and unavailable.

About Dreams & Shadows


1   Before Dawn (Deborah Martin)

2   At The Edge Of Calm Waters - I (Mark Rownd)

3   Blue Lake (Deborah Martin)

4   Breathing In The Deep (Jon Jenkins)

5   A Luminous Touch (J. Arif Verner)

6   Painting Twilight (Mark Rownd)

7   Loss Of Words (David Helpling)

8   Eyes Of Azure (Mark Rownd)

9   All Things End (David Helpling)

Since the mid-1980′s, the Spotted Peccary Music record label has been on a mission to develop, produce, publish and release ultra high quality, deep listening experiences that engage the listener and exceed expectations. With a deeper focus on quality and artistry first and foremost, the Spotted Peccary label has discovered and produced some of the finest instrumental releases of the past 25 years, setting standards and pushing boundaries in the process.

Dreams & Shadows is a warm collection of deep ambient and textural pieces from Spotted Peccary’s late 90’s catalog, highlighting a time when the label was incorporating etherial atmospheric and ambient spacemusic into the mix of releases on a regular basis.

Dreams & Shadows is a rewarding look back at an exciting time when Spotted Peccary’s dedication to music and art began to flourish, and the exploration of deeper spaces began to thrive.


If you've not already been acquainted with the Various Artists in the Spotted Peccary line-up, now's the time to sample some of their offerings. Decorating your surroundings with Dreams & Shadows, five musicians transcend stereotypical new age territories with nine incredibly placid tracks of shapeless loveliness that float above any preconceptions (and take you with them).

Mark Rownd briefly wanders ‘At the Edge of Calm Waters’ (2:16), awash in layered tonal fluidity which simply resonates. Similarly liquid in form, Deborah Martin's ‘Blue Lake (Remix)’ receives cyclic rounds of flutey breezes and faintly sparkling notes over its calmly rippling surface. Moving from water to air, Jon Jenkins issues the vast respiratory waves of ‘Breathing in the Deep’, more than ten minutes of tranquilly shimmering in-and-out.

‘A Luminous Touch’ is the only entry from J. Arif Verner, and a short one at that; his ringing strings reverberate gently into an undulating spaciousness, all too soon fading. Mark Rownd reappears, coloring the evening skies with long, sweeping movements of ‘Painting Twilight’ (12:29). Aptly chosen for the final piece, ‘All Things End’ wafts in muted swells which are dappled occasionally with droplets of David Helpling's dreamy piano notes.

Each contributing from one to three three pieces, these artists present their Dreams & Shadows in gauzey tapestries of sound. The dreams definitely outnumber the shadows in this 8.4-rated compilation.

- Ambientrance

More from Spotted Peccary Artists Series

25% off your entire order
Discount automatically taken at checkout Dismiss